Tryout Dates SVSU Athletics

(For Enrolled SVSU Students ONLY)

Interested in playing a sport at SVSU?  Fill out an online recruiting form to express your interest to one of our coaches... Click Here 

Sport

Tryout Date/Information

Baseball TBD
Contact head coach Steve Jaksa at spjaksa@svsu.edu for more information
Men's Basketball TBD
Contact assistant coach Tommy Twardecki at ttwardec@svsu.edu for more information
Women's Basketball TBD 
Contact head coach Jenny Pruett at jjpruett@svsu.edu for more information
Cheer Team

Contact Aaron Mowen at apmowen@svsu.edu for all information regarding the SVSU Cheerleading Team.

Men's and Women's Cross Country

TBD
Contact Rod Cowan at rmcowan@svsu.edu for more information
Men's and Women's Track TBD
Contact Rod Cowan at rmcowan@svsu.edu for more information 
Football TBD
Contact head coach Ryan Brady at rebrady@svsu.edu for more information
Golf

Open tryouts done over Labor Day Weekend, pre-qualifying required before July 1.
Contact Joe Vogl at 989-964-4051 or javogl@svsu.edu 

Men's Soccer TBD
Contact head coach Louis Barrow for more information
Women's Soccer TBD
Contact head coach Michael O'Neill at mloneill@svsu.edu for more information
Softball

 Wednesday, Sep. 4 at 5:00 pm -   Contact head coach Todd Buckingham at tlbuckin@svsu.edu for more information

Tennis

TBD
Please email Head Coach Jenn Boehm at jsboehm@svsu.edu for more information.

Volleyball Contact Will Stanton at wstanto@svsu.edu for more information
Women's Swimming & Diving

Contact Bruce Zimmerman at bazimmer@svsu.edu for more information 

 

Give it a try!

If you want to try-out for any of the teams listed above, please mail your name, address, phone number and year in college (e.g. 1st time freshman, returning freshman, sophomore, etc.) to SVSU, the respective sport, attn: Head Coach, 7400 Bay Road, University Center, MI 48710

Required Documents

Please download and complete the Medical History Form and Try-Out Waiver Form prior to the try-out date. Please bring these materials with you along with a copy of your insurance card to the try-out.

Please fill out the two (2) forms below. All prospective student-athletes must have a recent physical within six months prior to the tryout. Please bring written proof of physical with you to tryout.

Please download the following packet:

COMPLETE PROSPECTIVE STUDENT-ATHLETE & TRY-OUT PACKET: Contains all required medical paperwork that is listed below in one easy to print document.

Eligibility Information

First time in college freshman who make the team must register for the NCAA Clearinghouse and be certifiied as a "Qualifier" by the NCAA in order to be eligible for competition in the first academic year.
NCAA Clearinghouse

Transfer students from a four-year institution must have a release from the institution previously attended prior to trying out.

All students who make the team must be certified by the SVSU Athletic Department Compliance Office prior to competition. Contact Samantha Kuhl at 989-964-4683 or slkuhl@svsu.edu for additional information about initial & transfer eligibility.